top of page
Search

MY TOP FIVE READS OF 2022 🥂

Updated: Jun 20, 2023


12 long/short months and somehow we have made it to the end of 2022! GOD IS TOO GOOD! I didn’t reach my reading goal, but I was able to read 76 whole books this year! Some by new to me authors, and some by my old reliables. Some that I loved and few that I loathed. Out of all of them I didn’t struggle too much with picking out my top five! My favorite books be the ones that make me want to cry and jump out of a window at the same time. These had me up at night contemplating life! Some may call me dramatic, idk, these just elicited that from me! I can’t help it lmfaooo!

Now this isn’t necessarily a recommendation list, but if you see something that interests you and you want more info or something, just let me know! This is more so me just enthusing about some of the books I read this year that had that 5 star je ne sais quoi FOR ME! All of these ladies were PUSHING their pen and playing no gamesss. Get into my quick thoughts below!

*These aren’t necessarily in order*

The first two are definitely my top two tho! I just refuse to choose 😂

 


Skyefall (Moon Series Book #5) by Desiree Granger

This is the last book in one of my favorite series *holds back tears* by one of my favorite authors 😭 The Moon Series was just soooo… she ate every crumb and devoured the plate, fork, and the knife! It’s a unique series; it gave us some metaphysical fantasy, with some urban fiction vibes, and some romantic elements. I can really say that Skyefall was my favorite book out of the series. JASMINE AND PERCY??!? One of my favorite couples of all time. Then the peek at the CARTERS?! She tried to break me 😭 It was just so much! SO GOOD. 5 ⭐️ EASILY! If only I could read the whole series for the first time again…

*You can find my review of this on my IG page*

 

Clear Water by Nina

Ok, so this is a book written by another one of my favorite authors! Clear Water is a continuation of the On Us series, and it follows the story of Pavati, Daly (my man, my MAN, MY MANNN!), and their families (including my BD LAKEEE). Pavati is a character that I could really relate to (I just love her 🥹)! And the healing that takes place throughout the series… SHOUTOUT to Dr. Pie!!! This book was literally sooo good wtf! I wasn’t expecting anything else though. Ms. Nina does it for me EVERYTIMEEE! A very gifted mind. It’s like she is writing these stories about real people! So many layers and so much DEPTH! It just makes me want to cry 😂 FIVE ⭐️s and it ain’t up for debate!! If you haven’t already, GET INTO THISSSS!

Ps: for everyone who got Hassan, BOOOOOO I’m jealous 😂

 

A Love Bred From the Block by Antoinette Sherell

REASON AND ZODI!! Antoinette Sherell…she crept up on me. When I picked this up I KNEW!! I knew that it was going to hit (which is probably why it took me so long to finally read it)! This was my first read by Ms. Sherell and it isn’t my last (I actually read Salvage My Soul this month 🥹). I was VERY impressed by her storytelling abilities, her writing abilities, and how well put together the book was. This book made me mad, it made me want to cry, it made me laugh, it made me swoon, it made my heart hurt, and it had the nerve to put me on edge. When I tell y’all I consumed all 448 pages of this in probably like two sittings?? And then I contemplated what to do with my life afterwards. Idk whether I was consuming the book or it was consuming me 😂 IDK I just loved it! The real question is Ms. Antoinette making me love her more and more with each book I read??? She’s coming for one of them top spots when it comes to me!


Ps: That “be my reason” is going to do it for me EVERY TIME!

*My more detailed thoughts about this book can be found here*

 

BLU by M. Monique

BLU!!! The poster boy for BIG FINE with BDE! I enjoyed this story immensely! The drama, suspense, and the betrayal chileeee! This book literally started with some foolishness going on lol! What really made this book stick out to me was the mystery aspect of it (and the fact the Blu was big asf). It gave the story another layer that had me locked in! I just want to say on the record that I knew IT from early on (iykyk)! Then we also got to see the mcs grow through their struggles and work through the issues. I knew that when I finished this it would end up on this list (or at least my top ten). The moral of the story for me was that life is too short, so when you find that real love fall into it! Also, these hoes be TRIPPING and some need to be put down FOR GOOD *Dr. Umar Voice* 😂


Ps: are there any Blus out there in real life??? I need to gon head and get one of those ASAP!

 

And last but not least,

A Staten Island Love Affair by Jahquel J

Y’all, talk about SKRESSED! I mean I was up until all times of the morning. The birds were CHIRPING! I mean the lies, the betrayals, the revalations, the fake ass polygamy, and Messiah’s daughters always going after men who are in love with other women?!? It was ALOT! This series was a spin off of one of my favorite series, A Staten Island Love Letter. While it was good to take some peeks at the gang and see what they were up to (🥹), these characters’ stories were something else all on their own. It was mainly Miesha and Ruka for me! Miesha… I wanted to whoop her ass, but I had love for her at the same time??? I was just like “bitch, get it TOGETHER BITCH!” She was just so stupid omg 😂 This series had a lot of twists and turns, but it did it FOR ME!

 

Well if you’ve made it this far, thank you for reading through my ramblings lol. I hope you enjoyed! It would be great if you would like, share, and comment on this post! If you’ve read any of these books I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments! Or even if you want to put me on to your favorite read from this year, leave a comment! Let’s KI together 😂!

Anyways, 2022 it’s been real! Now we are on to the next one. New year, new goals, new books to read, and new authors to discover! Y’all be blessed in this new year!

(I’m praying that 2023’s hands are less brutal 😂)


Ciao,

J. Lynae 💋


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page