top of page
Search

WHAT’S THE VIBES? The Category is: DRAMA 😏


Not all of us, but some of us are definitely mood readers. We can’t follow the order of our TBR lists. We can’t just go with any and every book that is recommended to us. We can’t just go with what the hottest new release is.  And if we aren’t feeling it, it’s an immediate DNF. We are the ones that follow how we feel and nothing else! These trends don’t phase us. In honor of us mood readers I’ll be recommending books based on what they are giving!

I don’t know about y’all but sometimes I need a little drama. In this post I will be focusing on the books that are giving the girls DRAMA. So if you are in need of something drama filled, then I’ve got you covered! Check out these bomb recommendations below!


1. That’s All Me: Jigga and Daisie by Cion Lee

I’m starting off a little more mild lol! That’s All Me: Jigga and Daisie follows the story of Justin “Jigga” Martell and Daimencia “Daisie” Brown. Jigga is that nigga, NFL Bound, college educated, and fine. Daisie is a young beautiful lady with big dreams of becoming a fashion designer. With his popularity, being a player is what comes naturally to Jigga, until he meets Daisie. Still with as much as he wants to hang up his player jersey, it’s not as easy as it may seem, especially with all of the temptation lurking. This story is a wild ride as we watch Jigga and Daisie go through their ups and downs.

TRIGGER WARNINGS ⚠️

Domestic Violence 

Violence Against Pregnant Women

Gun Violence


2. A Project Chick by Nikki Turner

A Project Chick is an urban fiction book written by the legendary Nikki Turner! Chile… this right here? Drama! A Project Chick tells the tale of Tressa’s journey. Tressa is a young girl that is used to living a kept lifestyle. First her brother takes care of her and then Lucky comes into her life and sweeps her off her feet. As time passes, Lucky sheds his sheep clothing to reveal his true wolf nature. As Tressa experiences love, heartbreak, betrayal, greif, and friendship, she is forced to deal with the chips as they fall. I don’t want to tell too much, but some of these characters are CRAZY. If you read this, be prepared for some SHIT! I loved it and I hope you will too!

TRIGGER WARNINGS 🚨

Poisoning

Drug Addiction

Violence Against Animals 

Gun Violence 

Stalking

Domestic Abuse


3. It’s Wrong for Me to Love You 1-3 by Krystal Armstead

It’s Wrong for Me to Love You is the epitome of DRAMA for me! It follows the story of two friends (or maybe frenemies), Neveah and Charlie, as they navigate love, heartbreak, friendship, and everything in between. Betrayal is at an all time high, exes from the past return, secrets are revealed, love triangles are getting the mess started, death lingers in the background, and so much more goes on. This series is so messy and I love it! If you want something that will have you up at night stressing, then this is the book for you. 

TRIGGER WARNINGS ⚠️

Stillbirth

Heart Defects

Sexual Assault 

Child Abuse 

Death

Suicide 


4. The Flint Series by Treasure Hernandez

The Flint series tells the tale of high school sweethearts Haleigh and Malek. Malek is a NBA bound high school superstar. Growing up in Flint, Michigan is no easy feat. From the outside looking in, Halliegh and Malek have the life that others wished that they had, but one night changes everything. Just as they thought they would make it out of the trenches, they are pulled in even deeper. The fall from the top is hard, and Malek and Halliegh feel it ALL. Get into this series about survival, love, betrayal, and friendship. 

Now to be candid I didn’t read the entire series. I read up until the sixth book because it felt complete to me. I just wanted the characters to stay where they were. They had already been through enough for me lol!

TRIGGER WARNINGS 🚨

Sexual Assult

Domestic Violence 

Sex Trafficking 

Prostitution 

Gun Violence 


⚠️A lot happens in all of these books, so this may not be all of the triggers! Be careful⚠️


Personally I LOVE a little drama here and there (that’s a lie, I love it all the time lol). All of these books gave me exactly that! Stressed me the hell OUT (but in a good way lmfao)! Get into this drama! Even if you aren’t feeling drama at the moment, you can always reference back to this post when you are. Please, don’t forget to like and comment. If you do pick up one of these reads, let me know what you think! I’d love to hear your thoughts! If you have read any of these let me know your thoughts in the comments.


That’s all I have for now. Make sure you follow me on Instagram and on Twitter for more updates on me, my bookish content, and what I am reading. You can get into the tea here:

Instagram: @J.lynaewrites 

Twitter: @JLynaeWrites


As always, thank you! Happy readingggg 💕

Ciao,

J. Lynae 💋

2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page